Dysmorphia

I see myself smaller than I really am

A word most commonly associated with anorexia and often preceded by the word body.

Dysmorphia- disˈmôrfēə- deformity (or thought of) abnormality in the size or shape of something (the body)

Social media contributes to such a large amount of eating disorders it’s ridiculous what a well angled, lit, and Photoshopped picture can do to a young impressionable girl’s mind who seeks nothing but love and validation. I was one of those little girls, and My vision of my body was clouded by these pretty fitspo ladies with eating disorders themselves. I wasn’t educated on the correct way to lose wight, or the fact that kids don’t need to lose weight, and I especially didn’t need to lose weight.

I was a 126 pound 15 year old and I thought the small collection of fat on my lower belly was the end of my healthy life and I was going to die and yadda yadda. I saw myself as bigger than I was, and every little detail of my being that I was dissatisfied with was magnified to cartoonish proportions causing a near eating disorder mentality. I don’t believe I’ve ever had an eating disorder, well, at least not one with a name. Wilderexic I guess?

Since I’ve gained weight though. The reverse effect has come into play. I see myself in he mirror and think. “Okay, I look fine here”. Why is that bad? It isn’t particularly, except when I see myself in pictures, I can tell that every singe mirror I ever look into has lied to me. Or are my eyes and mind lying to me? I’m so confused with this whole dysmorphic, or as I call it reverse dysmorphic, process. What is up and down or left and right!? I mean really, why can’t  I just see what I actually look like in the mirror, and maybe then I’ll be a little more concerned about what I;m putting into my body. I digress, As you can see from my post about Satiety, I’m working towards that whether I can see it or not, because I do agree that there’s improvements to be made on whichever version of my body you see. I can always get stronger. It’s just a funny phenomenon that I’ve noticed and wanted to share in case anyone felt alone. It’s very weird to not recognize the body you are in for what it is.

Image result for dysmorphia

http://www.superbalancedlife.com/blog/2015/3/25/body-dysmorphia-eating-disorders-and-grief

 

Leave a Reply

